rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Is it too late to hop on the Comp Sci bandwagon

Seems like the only booming industry for young professionals these days is app development and startups.

Is it too late to hop into this field - I managed to get into a 2 year second degree comp sci program at UBC but am concerned that I'd be entering the industry at the tail end of its boom.

Thoughts?

My background is in geology and mining engineering which is in a slump at the moment.

Comp Sci will always be in demand. The problems are having to continually update your technical skills and dealing with unprofessional people compared to other fields (finance/banking/accounting, marketing, healthcare, etc). Any normal IT environment is very unprofessional.

IT/Computer Science also has uneducated people who are just high school graduates and were able to land a IT job from taking a few Comp Sci courses at a community college. From personal experience, they are the worst I have encountered and its best to avoid uneducated people in social and professional environments.

I personally find bioinformatics and bioengineering interesting.

Quote: (12-27-2018 12:51 PM)dildor Wrote:  

Seems like the only booming industry for young professionals these days is app development and startups.

Is it too late to hop into this field - I managed to get into a 2 year second degree comp sci program at UBC but am concerned that I'd be entering the industry at the tail end of its boom.

Thoughts?

My background is in geology and mining engineering which is in a slump at the moment.