rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Lifting and muscle imbalances

Hi all,

I am wondering if I can get some advice regarding muscle imbalances.

Background
I’ve been squatting and deadlifting for a few years. When I started, I noticed significant development of my quads/glutes/lower back. I got up to 1RM of around 260lbs for squat; 308lbs for deadlift.

Since then, I’ve been maintaining my squat around 170-220lbs and deadlift around 220-240lbs for 5 rep sets.However, in that time, I’ve noticed that while my quads and lower back have maintained their development, the glutes have gotten smaller. My balance is also poor.

The squats have been deep - ass to grass - and I’ve always been told my squat form is good. My deadlift has never been as strong as my squat and my hamstrings are very tight. I also have weak/tight calves.

With the above in mind, what should I be doing?
-doing something like pilates to try and improve flexibility in my hamstrings and engage the glutes? and hopefully, improve my balance
-modifying the squat or deadlift to try and strengthen the glutes? if so what are the options

Thanks for any advice,
b

We sort of need some more info here. Age, weight, training program, ect.

If you've been squatting for 3 years and your 1rm is 260, there's a problem there.

There is a problem somewhere.

Thanks.
Age = 33
Weight = 165lbs
Training program = starting strength
The reason I haven't gone for a higher 1RM is that I was happy with where my lifts were and I have started doing medical residency training so have been time poor. With starting strength and linear progression it gets very demanidng in terms of rest, recovery and diet if you want to keep going up and up - and I didn't have the time for that with work and study.