rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Saint Petersburg 2017 Datasheet

Intro:

[Image: attachment.jpg37181]   

I was in Saint Petersburg from February to July of this year. I attended a Russian course at a local university and in the evenings I worked as a teacher in a private language school. I didn’t have as much free time as in previous trips to EE, but eventually I think I got to know the city quite well so I hope other guys can find this info useful.

About me: I’m Spanish, in my 20s, 6ft 1, average looks and game and I speak Russian.

With around 7 million people, Saint Petersburg is Russia’s 2nd largest city and it’s said to be much more European and cultured than Moscow. Located in the Gulf of Finland, it’s the northernmost city in the world with over 1 million people. As a result, the weather is shit for 8 months a year and this is definitely the main downside. During the winter, you can barely walk around the city as thick layers of ice cover some sidewalks and the ubiquitous mud and snow forces you to clean your shoes several times a day. In addition, you’ll barely see the sun light for a couple of hours each day and overall it can get a bit depressing during the toughest months. This year we even had snow in April and apparently, it was the coldest spring in 50 years or so.

On the plus side, the city comes alive in May-June and it feels like being in a completely different place. My advice is to visit between May – October. A few students might leave the city but a lot of them surprisingly stay. For example, I met several girls from Vladivostok who could only afford to go home and see their families once a year during Christmas.