rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Start a new career as a personal trainer?

Hi all,
I've been a marketing manager for about 2 years and I think I'm starting to get bored of being in front of computers all the time.
I've been going to the gym for 1 year already and all my friends use to tell me that I inspire them to keep motivated with their fitness goals as I never give up. I have some personal routines for when I train in the gym or outdoors and I know how to eat healthy and how to establish diets depending on the goals.
I am wondering if I could make my way as a personal trainer?
I think I'm good with people, and may have enough knowledge about the fitness lifestyle.
Should I quit my job and start? How should I go about it?

Most of the personal trainers I see at gyms are either hanging around talking (and not training anybody) or end up in some sort of administrative role within the gym.

As far as I know, in order to be qualified to work as a personal trainer you are supposed to have some form of certification, which a lot of people just get online.

Before you dive head first into it, you might consider trying it part-time to see what its really like. It seems you're only paid per training session, and anytime in between you aren't making anything.

Edit: I will say though that you can learn a hell of a lot from a good personal trainer. I just think it must be hard to really make a great living from it. Lets say you have a degree in kinesiology or physical therapy, combined with a personal training certification, and maybe even run your own gym, then I imagine you'd be far better off.

This question seems to pop up every 2 years, there are multiple threads on this theme. For the sake of completeness:

thread-1727.html
thread-44220.html
thread-21085.html
thread-38786.html