rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

My Udemy courses thread

My Udemy courses thread

Hello people!

Long story short, I am 33 years old, from Ploiesti, Romania. I work as a lecturer at the local University and loving every second of it. I teach programming (beginner's level), numerical methods and optimization techniques. I first learn computer programming when I was 15, in the first year of high school, and since then I studied by myself many other things regarding this topic. But this is for another time.

This summer I came with the idea to extend what I am teaching to other people who are interested. Because numerical methods and optimization techniques are way too advanced, I decided to give it a go with the programming course. My first attempt was at a local place, called Anticaffe. At that time, I had set my expectations very low, because I knew this was an experiment. For me, if a student appeared, then it was a win. I structured the course on 10 chapters, one chapter weekly and began my job. Despite the publicity the place's boss made, only three students showed up, one of them quitting after only to weeks. I wasn't disappointed (mainly because I set myself very low expectations), but it was obvious that there is no point in continuing after I ended the course.

A month ago, I remembered the Udemy site and decided to browse it a little. Instantly, I thought to replicate the Anticaffe experiment here, on Udemy.

I am still browsing the site and the requirements for the instructors. I found only one course that is similar to what I want to teach, which tells me that the competition is non-existent for this course. Meanwhile, I am building a list of the topics that I will address in my future course.

My plan, so far, is very simple:
  1. Create the course
  2. Market the course
  3. Maintenance
  4. Repeat