rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Turn on, tune in, drop out

The 1960's psychedelic guru Timothy Leary was famous for these words, "turn on, tune in, drop out", I believe it was at the "Human be-in" a large counter-culture gathering in San Francisco in 1967 that he said it in a speech to the crowd.

Today I was just thinking with election season, ISIS, the war(s) in the Middle East, and terrorism in France, there are a lot of people getting whipped into a frenzy and on a smaller scale guys on this forum as well.

I have a degree in political science and read the news daily, I think it is important to stay informed, but recently I have been "turning on, tuning in, and dropping out."

What I mean by that is while in the past I would take to arguments about society, culture, and politics, passionately making my case for my beliefs, recently I have been not giving a fuck about what other people think, what mainstream society thinks, what conservatives think, what liberal SJW's think, etc...

Instead I have been focusing on myself and while I still have my beliefs, I know that they are mine, and while I can listen to those who may have a vastly different outlook, opinions, and ideas, I don't take what they have to say to heart. I don't let it affect me, on any kind of emotional or psychological level.