rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Going from electric to gas oven cooking

We are about to update our oven in our house from a 40 year old overhead dual oven to a gas oven. This one to be exact which has a baking tray at the bottom. We bought it today but it will take awhile to get it installed. The old oven has been dying so it has to retire.

http://products.geappliances.com/ApplPro...GS985SETSS

Beside higher cooking temps is there other things to be aware of with gas cooking? I've been cooking on the electric range and stove for at least 3 years. But the newer ones are the ceramic top that look like it would be easy to crack. I'm not wild a about the grates that go over the burners since they look tricky to clean.

I can't imagine using an electric oven.

The range (gas burners) are much more responsive than what you might be used to, so your margin for error goes down and your attention span goes up. The number one issue I see with home cooks is controlling heat, as crazy as that sounds. Most seem to think that there's only two settings: Low, and Max. It'll take some time but you'll need to adjust the burner on your pan according to what you observe going on in the pan. If it looks or sounds too hot, it probably is.

As far as the oven goes, gas ovens are incredibly inaccurate. I would highly recommend getting a cheap oven thermometer like this: http://www.staples.com/office/supplies/S...PID=447101