rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Credit card/ debt settlement

I'm considering trying to negotiate paying off a couple credit cards by offering a lump sum at around 50% of what I owe. So far it looks like companies are open to settling rather than getting nothing at all. I was wondering if any forum members have gone this route.

What I've learned so far:

Get your deal in writing, including how it will affect your credit.

Don't accept the first offer.

And your chances of getting this done without a credit ding is best done before it goes to collections, however of it does go to collections you can pay a much lower lump sum.

I'm a pro at this Fisto whatever you want to know ask me. I've seen settlements at 10%. I did mine at 20 I think but it's considered income at tax time.

It's income from discharge of indebtedness.

So if they forgave $10,000, you owe taxes on that $10,000 as if you had earned it.

But it still ends up being a deal.

Say you owe $20,000. You pay $10,000 and they forgive $10,000.

You'll owe around 15-25% (whatever your tax rate ends up being) of that $10,000.

So all in, you're $12,500 on a $20,000 debt.

-------

There are a couple of good credit repair law firms. (Lexington Law Firm is good.)

After you've settled your debt, the banks have little incentive to keep track of your files.

The law firm will send dispute letters to the credit bureaus.

By law, the bank must confirm the negative entry in your credit report is valid within 30 days. If they don't, the entry falls off of your credit report.

A friend of mine walked away from a lot of CC debt and had a 700 credit score within a year.

Id like to know about this also but my rules may be different since I am in Canada.

Mechanic and MikeCF I'm and definitely down to do it then.