rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Whetstone for knife sharpening?

Can anyone recommend a whetstone for knife sharpening? For a chef's knife, in particular.

I'm a complete newbie to this, so I'd also appreciate any ebook / YouTube recommendations too.

"I'm not worried about fucking terrorism, man. I was married for two fucking years. What are they going to do, scare me?"

I know that there are tutorials on youtube for sharpening jigs. These hold the knife at specific angle against whetstone ensuring always an easy sharpening. My friend is a chef and he uses stones up to 4000 grits if I recall correctly. Look what I found at this website: https://sohoknives.wordpress.com/2014/03...-the-grit/

Quote:Quote:

less than 1000 grit is typically used to repair knives with chipped edges
1000 to 3000 grit are used to sharpen dull knives
4000 to 8000 grit are finishing stones and are used to refine your knife edge
If you are using your knife to cut meat it is best to stop at between 4000 and 6000 grit as you can bend your knife edge on the muscle and sinew

I use a chef’s choice electric sharpener for my Shun knives because it can sharpen Asian and western angle blades, FWIW, I like shun knives, but they are a bit fragile.

I use this:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00VQK...UTF8&psc=1

Affordable, easy to use, and safe.

Vice-Captain - #TeamWaitAndSee

I recommend something like this: Spyderco

It's very accurate and handles knives with serrations. It takes more time than an electric sharpener, but you don't have to use it often. It will make an edge that will shave your skin.

It's been my understanding that the electric sharpeners grind down too much of the blade.

That Spyderco looks interesting, though. Thanks, Dulceacido