rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Travelers Checks

Travelers Checks

I have never used them before but some people are telling me I should get them for my upcomming trip. Anyone know if they are widely accepted in Colombia (Caribbean Coast)?

Travelers Checks

Quote: (03-31-2011 11:34 AM)Dash Global Wrote:  

I have never used them before but some people are telling me I should get them for my upcomming trip. Anyone know if they are widely accepted in Colombia (Caribbean Coast)?

They may be accepted but I always thought and read that they have almost gone the way of the dinosaur. Is there a particular reason you would like to use them opposed to credit/debit card?

Travelers Checks

I think im just gonna use my debit card. Hopefully I dont get it stolen lol Prob bring 200 in Traverlers checks just in case of emergency.

Travelers Checks

Quote:Quote:

but some people are telling me I should get them for my upcomming trip

Did they also tell you to sew silver coins in the lining of your jackets for when you run out of currency? Or maybe to hide money in your CDROM Discman?

All kidding aside, with the advent of plastic, there is no use for travelers checks.

Travelers Checks

No one uses them any more and you'll find it a hassle to cash them. Just have a second bank card or credit card you can use if your debit card gets lost or stolen. I always carry around $100 stashed away in my wallet for emergencies as well. Not great if you get mugged but been a life saver a few times in South America when my debit card wouldn't work or when someone cloned my card....three times!

Travelers Checks

Go with Capital One Debit or Credit Card...They don't charge any foreign transaction fees which can rack up pretty quickly! I use it all the time since I'm traveling abroad so much!

Travelers Checks