rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Beginner's Guide to Precious Metals

I want to learn about the best way to buy physical gold and silver coins, what terms like "spot", "troy ounce" mean and so on. Even going further, what silver dollars or more valuable compared to others and so on.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

(I've done a Google search, but I trust you guys more than the top results on Google.)

Hey,

I've been buying silver and gold for over three years. Here's the answer to your questions.

SPOT price is the agreed current price in the market between sellers and buyers. It's the price that silver will be worth at any current time. Sometimes the price goes down but over the past couple years, it's mostly gone up. A good resource of the current spot price is kitco.com. The spot price is based on the value of one troy once of silver.

A troy ounce is basically this (1 troy ounce = 31.1034768 grams). What you're getting is 31 grams of silver. Basically it's just one ounce. What you wanna buy is one ounce silver rounds, which are one ounce silver coins.

The current spot price is the price for one ounce, so you can easily find the price you'd pay for one ounce round by looking at the spot price. I think the best place to buy your silver is apmex.

That's great - thank you for such a fast response. Are there any websites or books you'd recommended so I can learn more?

Quote: (02-23-2011 04:13 AM)Sammy Wrote:  

That's great - thank you for such a fast response. Are there any websites or books you'd recommended so I can learn more?

This is a good one:

http://www.amazon.com/Rich-Dads-Advisors...132&sr=8-1