rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Collar Stays

Collar Stays

Looking for some info on collar stays. Did a bit of searching on here, didn't find much.

After many years of having dress shirts that don't fit worth a shit I am going to start updating my collared shirts with ones that fit. As I am a difficult shape to fit (thick neck, arm, and chest and a comparatively thin waistline) I have not had much success with any off the rack shirts getting tailored. Right now I am going to made-to-measure route as I can get a very good fit at a decent price. Later on I will move to actual custom shirts, but that's in the future. Also, I have never used collar stays before so I have no knowledge of them other than what I've read.

For reference, the collar stays I intend on getting are the ones that I believe were recommended on nexxxtlevelup, the metal ones with magnets for inside the shirt. I think these were the ones: http://www.amazon.com/Wurkin-Stiffs-2-5-...llar+stays . They're more expensive than the rest, but I figure buy them once and you're good forever basically.

My question is what are the rules/opinions on collar stays? I will be looking to get everything from short sleeve casual collared shirts to long sleeve dress shirts. I will most likely not be going with a very wide collar, except for maybe some shirts that I don't intend to ever button up fully, as I read on masculinestyle that the wider collars are for very lean faces which I am not graced with.

Does anybody recommend using stays in casual shirts? For the sake of not getting into what is "casual" and what isn't, let's say that by casual I mean short sleeve with collar, a plaid or striped design, or a shirt intended to wear with jeans/khakis/chinos. Probably over-simplified, but whatever.