rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Public Speaking

Public Speaking

Anybody got any serious(!) ways you can take the nervous edge / nervy voice / anxiety away from public speaking in a serious environment, ie - work / conferences etc please?

I take a beta blocker beforehand which helps with the shakes / stops the "fight or flight" but if I know I have to give a speech it gives me mental angst for ages before......any ways you guys cope?

Public Speaking

I'm a teacher, so I do public speaking every day. I still get a bit nervous even after doing it for years. It never goes away, but being well prepared is the only defense against true embarrassment.

Just know your topic inside and out, know how you're going to condense it to hold interest, and know how to deal with questions that may arise that you don't know how to answer. Also, consciously make yourself speak slowly and authoritatively. You should be able to realize when you're speeding up too much and rambling awkwardly.

Public Speaking

Try to rehearse your presentation before hand as much as possible. When you do the presentation it sticks in your mind better and the nervousness will decrease relative to the time you put into it. Other than that the only thing that will reduce the nerves is doing lots of public speaking.
According to one of my lecturers at my university, the US army wanted to simulate the effects of battle nerves on its soldiers and the only thing that increased the nerves to a similar extent was public speaking. Not sure if this is true but it shows that public speaking is one of the top things that make people very nervous.

Girls should be an ornament to the eye, not an ache in the ear.

Public Speaking

I posted this in a reply over at RoK to the article "5 Principles To Improve Your Public Speaking"